5 weird things I do the week before a marathon

sleepytime

Now that my mileage is dropping and I’ve got a bit of time on my hands, I’ve started to realize all of the weird things I do when I’m tapering.  Is it just me?  Do you have any weird tapering habits?  Here’s my top 5…

  1. Binge on Emergen-C and Zicam. Not sure if I’m actually getting a cold, or I just slept with my window open last night, or I’m just a hypochondriac, but when I’m about to race, but I always freak out that I’m getting sick.zicam
  2. Run in really ugly running clothes.  Haven’t figured out what I’m going to wear on race day, so I’ll only wear shirts and shorts that I know I won’t want.  Yes, this morning I wore a yellow shirt and purple shorts.  Not pretty.
  3. Icy Hot.  You know it’s bad when you can smell icy hot when you’re sitting at your desk at work.  Wonder if the girls notice that my cube smells like a high school cross country meet…icy hot
  4. Multiple cups of Sleepytime tea.  Cut my miles in half and for the first time in months I’m tossing and turning in bed.  Solution: Make camomile tea.  Consider mixing with Emergen-C.  Realize that’s a terrible awful idea.  Go back to bed.sleepytime
  5. Stock up on bananas.  Is there a banana shortage?  Nope.  Am I going to eat 10 bananas in the next 3 days? Nope.  BUT I CAN’T RISK RUNNING OUT OF BANANAS.  Buy them all buy them ALL.

So what do you do when you’re in the middle of Taper Madness?

2 thoughts on “5 weird things I do the week before a marathon

Leave a Reply

