Recipe: Lemon Bar Energy Bites

lemon energy bites 2I don’t eat before I run on training days.  But put me in the crossfit gym without a snack and I start to feel shaky.  Maybe I actually need the fuel, or maybe the heavy weights and barbells just scare me.  Either way, I need to eat something small before heading to my 5:30am class at Crossfit Shadyside I used to open up a granola bar and take a few bites before running out the door, but then I hopped on the energy bite trend and figured out that I could make them myself!

Don’t be scared to dump everything in your food processor all at once.  Order doesn’t matter.  Just do it!

Lemon Bar Energy Bites

  • Servings: 12
  • Print

lemon bar energy bitesIngredients:

  • 8 large medjool dates, pitted
  • zest + juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup cashews
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp oats
  • dash salt
  • Shredded coconut for rolling (don’t add to food processor)

Steps:

  1. Add everything except the coconut to the food processor.
  2. Mix for about 30 seconds or until a sticky dough start to form.  It should still be a little chunky.
  3. Put dough in the freezer for half an hour until it is firm enough to roll into balls.
  4. Roll into 12 bites and then roll in shredded coconut.  Store in your fridge or freezer.

Coming soon: my thoughts on crossfit and running.

Do you eat before you workout?  Send me your favorite easy pre-workout snack recipes!

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Lemon Bar Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

