Recipe: Sweet Potato & Fig Steel Cut Oats

Breakfast is absolutely my favorite meal of the day.  After my 5am weekday alarm goes off to run or go to the crossfit gym, the thought of coming home to a bowl of oatmeal and cup of coffee gets me out of bed.  I don’t eat before morning training runs, so by the time I get back I’m ravenous and need a filling breakfast to make it through the morning.

I have a few go-to breakfasts that I eat variations of most days.  Oatmeal, smoothies, and breakfast sandwiches have been my favorites for as long as I can remember. Recently, there’s been a lot of rainy mornings and I’ve been on a steel cut oats kick.  Oatmeal is just so comforting and warming after a dreary, dark, wet run.

I roast sweet potatoes in the oven for this recipe, which can take up to an hour.  Since I don’t have the time in the morning, I usually roast a few sweet potatoes on Sunday night, mash them, and store them in the fridge to eat for the week.  I love adding them to my oatmeal, smoothies and protein shakes, or just eating them with cinnamon and cottage cheese.

Sweet Potato and Fig Steel Cut Oats

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 15 mins + 45 minutes to roast sweet potato ahead of time
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup quick cook steel cut oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • 1t vanilla
  • 1t maple syrup, or more to taste
  • 2 fresh figs

Steps:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 425.
  2. Wrap the sweet potato in a foil packet and place it directly on the oven rack of the pre-heated oven.
  3. Roast the sweet potato for 45 mins to an hour, until it gives slightly when you lightly squeeze it with a pot holder and a knife can slice through it smoothly.
  4. Let the sweet potato cool, peel the skin off, and mash it with a fork.  Measure 1/3 cup for your oats and put the rest away in the fridge to eat later or use the next day.
  5. Bring almond milk to a boil in a small saucepan on the stove.
  6. While the almond milk is heating, cut the figs into small wedges or slices.
  7. Add the oats to the saucepan of boiling almond milk, cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  8. Once all of the liquid is absorbed, crack the egg into the oats and quickly whisk so that it mixes in evenly.
  9. Add the mashed sweet potato, cinnamon, vanilla, and maple syrup and continue whisking until combined.
  10. Turn off the heat and stir in half of your sliced figs.
  11. Top with remaining figs and sprinkle with some extra cinnamon.
  12. Enjoy!

Do you eat before morning runs?  What are your favorite after workout breakfasts?

One thought on “Recipe: Sweet Potato & Fig Steel Cut Oats

Leave a Reply

