Recipe: Post Long Run Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

If you have ever been on a long run with me, there’s a 99.99% chance I have:

  1. Told you about my iced coffee cravings when I run
  2. Pointed out every single coffee shop that sells iced coffee along the route (hint: all of them do)
  3. Offered up $25 to anyone who will stop and get me an iced coffee

You get the idea.

If you like coffee as much as I do and haven’t tried cold brewing your own, the difference it makes is INCREDIBLE. Ever since I made my first batch I haven’t been able to go back to the hot brewed, fridge chilled, watery iced coffee I used to make. Plus, it’s super easy.

I like to grind my own beans and love heading down the Strip District on the weekends to Allegheny Coffee and Tea to smell all of the amazing flavors before I fill up a bag to take home. You can even grind it there if you don’t have a coffee grinder. Last weekend I got their new Coconut Rum flavor and it is hands down the best iced coffee flavor I’ve made yet.

IMG_0545[1]

I recommend using a dark or french roast coffee, but you can use any kind of coffee that you like!

Long Run Iced Coffee

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

   Ingredients:

  • 1 lb bag of coffee beans
  • Filtered water
  • Almond milk (or anything you like to mix in your coffee!)

   You will also need:

  • 1 2 gallon pitcher
  • Cheesecloth
  • Mesh strainer
  • Large bowl or second pitcher

Steps:

  1. Grind the coffee beans. You can buy them already ground, but I like to grind mine fresh.
  2. Dump all of the ground beans into a 2 gallon pitcher and fill it up with filtered water, leaving a little room so you can stir without spilling.
  3. Stir to make sure that all of the grounds are wet.
  4. Leave the mixture on your counter overnight.
  5. In the morning, line a mesh strainer with cheesecloth and place over a large bowl or second pitcher.
  6. Strain the grounds out and chill for a few hours before serving.
  7. To serve, fill a glass with ice and then fill halfway with cold brewed coffee. Add water, milk, cream, or sugar and enjoy!

Important: This makes an iced coffee concentrate and is very strong.

If you like your coffee black, I recommend adding water before drinking. I like to fill my glass halfway with cold brewed coffee and the rest of the way with vanilla almond milk. Trust me, it’s yummy!

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Post Long Run Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

  1. I was WAITING for this one so I can start linking to it. 🙂 Cheers!

    PS – coconut rum sounds fantastic. I told everyone on Tuesday morning that my cup of iced coffee was actually a Jack & Coke. That flavor would probably be excellent for covering up my office drinking habit.

    Like

  2. I made an iced coffee a few weeks ago and loved it! One thing that I added was I brewed up a cup of coffee and then poured it into ice trays (1 cup fills one tray). That way your iced coffee is colder and wont water down!

    Like

Leave a comment